Book Review: Real Simplicity, by Rozanne and Randy Frazee

  • Zondervan
  • April 2011
  • 224 pp.

If your calendar is like mine, it probably often tells the story of an overscheduled, activity-filled existence. In Real Simplicity: Making Room for Life, authors Randy and Rozanne Frazee offer a look at a different kind of life.

The book focuses on several major themes: minimize commuting and maximize time spent in and around the home (in the neighborhood); spend more time resting; decrease involvement in structured activities like sports, music practices, committees, etc.; spend more time with people in your geographic proximity (family and neighbors). I enjoyed contemplating these themes while reading Simplicity, because the over-scheduled life certainly does beg the question: why I am trying to have so much in my life? This was helpful in spotting some of the idols that my heart defaults to. Additionally, it helped me question some aspects of life that I normally don’t, and by God’s grace this questioning will lead to a more cross-centered life.

Yet, the book at times feels overwhelming–I’ve got to do all this to simplify my life!? More importantly, no emphasis is placed on the centrality of the gospel to a simple life. Because of this, I worry that Simplicity might draw readers from one set of idols to another.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

