Parent-Teacher Conferences and the Goodness of God

When I woke up this morning, I grumbled in my heart: it was conference day, and I knew that meant I wouldn’t be leaving work until 7pm. Do you ever have meetings at work that require you to stay late?

Well, during mine tonight, God gave me some grace to see a lot of blessings, despite having to be at work and away from my family for longer than I would have chosen. Mostly, these blessings centered around the opportunity conferences give me to get to know people better.

Meeting my students’ parents is always a privilege. It is fun to see the physical resemblances, and it is a joy to complement parents on the positive attributes I notice in their children. Also, it’s nice to get to talk to fellow staff members during the down time.

Anyways, I guess what I’m trying to say is, God is good! Even in those mandatory meetings that require us to work later hours sometimes, He is sovereign, and, as a Father who is constantly parenting us, there are opportunities for thanksgiving and growth in every situation.

May we grow in joy at our jobs, and may that joy make us better at what we do.

About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

