Marriage as Gospel-Reenactment

Tim Keller, in his marriage sermon series, calls marriage “Gospel reenactment.” When the Scriptures liken the husband to Christ and the wife to the church, we’re being told that, basically, our marriages are made to paint pictures of cross-centered love.

Well, my wife and I have given our daughter to some awesome grandparents, and we are taking our first overnight getaway since Hadassah was born back in September.

If our marriages are really meant to re-enact the Gospel, let’s take time for them! If you’re a man reading this, plan a date for your wife! And, just in case you are romance-blind (I’m not color blind, but I can certainly be romance-blind), remember some words of wisdom from my wife:

Romance is about creating an atmosphere where it’s clear that you have me (this is my wife talking) as your priority, where you just want to know me and bring me joy.

I would add that a good date involves being curious about who she is. A lot of times us guys can get into the mindset of, “Well, I’ve known her for a few years, been married to her a few years–I know who she is.” But we have to fight against that, because a woman made in God’s image is not so quickly known! God made this woman with an eternal soul; when we reflect on that, there’s no way we’re going to know who she is, even if we’re married a century!

About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

