Series: How to Stay in Our Jobs with God — Consciously Relying on Him

Today I had planned to move to Piper’s third point, but, as I was considering it, I got the sense that consciously relying on God’s power during work, for each task, was something that deserved another day’s reflection. Several observations from my experiment with this:

  • How quick I am to embark upon tasks by my own power, even tasks that I struggle with. This always leads to a stressful time when completing unpleasant tasks (e.g., grading papers).
  • How quick God is to show mercy when I ask Him for help and acknowledge that I need him for all tasks, both the ones I am confident of (e.g., teaching a “home run” lesson that has worked in the past) and the ones I am leery of.
  • How essential this is. Really, in the phrase consciously relying on God’s power, the word consciously is unavoidable. Whether we acknowledge Him or not, we only complete tasks because He has allowed us to have the abilities to complete them — but that is far from saying that unconsciously relying on his power is just as good! I already listed stress as a fruit of pretending that I do things under my own power, but there are plenty of others, including a lack of excellence in the work that we do.
    • Since excellence is another object we strive for in order to point towards God’s excellence, relying on God’s power is even more critical for those tasks that we need to grow in our ability to complete.
About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

