Series: How to Stay in our Job “with God” — Fellowship with Him

1. We can make much of God in our secular job through the fellowship we enjoy with him throughout the day in all our work.

The first way that Piper gives us for making much of Christ from 8 to 5 is through enjoying fellowship with God. Throughout our workday in secular workplaces, we can enjoy God’s being there for us by:

  • listening to his voice
  • talking to him
  • casting all our burdens on him
  • experiencing his guidance and care
  • being thankfully aware that we are able to do our work only because of God’s grace
  • taking his promises to work

As Christians, Piper explains, we don’t just go to work–we go to work with God. “In whatever condition each was called, there let him remain with God.” We don’t need to all quit our jobs or change our majors to something more Christian; instead, we can remain on the career paths we’re on, only now having the infinitely richer experience of doing so with God.

I’d like to elaborate on the final two bullet points from above:

First, we can immensely enjoy God’s presence in our jobs when we remember that God is the only reason we are able to do those jobs to begin with. We see and hear and touch because of him. We move and interact with our physical environments because of him. We are able to mentally observe and organize and assess because of him. I am able to plan lessons because of him, to pray for students because of him, to grade papers because of him. We have the skills that make us good at our jobs because of him. This can fill us with continual thankfulness, because every present act we are doing can be traced to his grace. “I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever” (Psalm 86:12).

This awareness can be further magnified when we depend on God for every future minute of our jobs and for all the help we need. Then, we are suddenly able to be free from anxiety about the upcoming ACT tests, the finals exams that will need to be quickly graded over a long weekend, the books that we need to read in order to grow in our craft. “This,” Piper explains, “is faith in future grace” (p. 137). We can express this faith through prayers like, “I trust in you, O LORD; I say, ‘You are my God'” (Psalm 31:14).

Second, we can support this thankfulness and faith but taking God’s promises to work every day–in our Bibles or memorized in our heads. This relates to another bullet point, because this is how we hear God throughout the day.

He encourages you, “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10). He reminds you that the challenges of the afternoon are not too hard for him to manage: “Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh. Is anything too hard for me?” (Jeremiah 32:27). He tells you not to be anxious, but to ask him for whatever you need (Philippians 4:6), and says, “Cast all your anxieties on me, for I care for you” (paraphrase of 1 Peter 5:7). And he promises to guide you through the day: “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you” (Psalm 32:8). (p. 137-8)

About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

