Parable of the Sower

Is it enough to simply see that I am the thorn-choked soil? Jesus’ explanation of the Parable of the Sower in Mark 4:13-20 doesn’t suggest this or refut it–yet, two parables later, starting in Mark 4:26, he tells the parable of the seed growing and how, though the laborers work to scatter the seed (the Word), they know not how it grows.

Two things stand out to me from this:

  1. As a teacher, friends, etc, my responsibility is only to “scatter seed.” I don’t have to fret about whether it grows. I think of my friends Laura and Lindsay meeting with me, a non-repentant, licentious long shot. They simply scattered seed into my life and trusted that it would grow.
  2. The “cares of the world” are those driving things in our hearts, those identity seats. I am a socially just person. I am a moral husband. For me, I am a writer. When these become ultimate–when, were we to lose them, life would be intolerable, we’d melt down–they become cares not of God’s Kingdom, but of the world’s, because in God’s kingdom our identity is secure; we are rock solid.
About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

