Poem: My Superpowers

My Superpowers

My superpowers:
I can stand at the edge
of the ocean of Joy
whose depths stretch
into the abyss of the universe
and remain unmoved.

I can pray
to the one who, once an infant,
held the quintillion stars in balance
while still learning to focus His eyes,
and, while praying,
I can be unimpressed.

I can use absurd pronouns–
my Savior, my King, my God–
proclaiming ownership
of the one who made me
and whose ownership I deny
and, while praying,
I can remain nonchalant.

My superpowers,
my diamond-hard heart,
is killing me
like Spider Man’s black suit.

But unlike Spider Man, I can’t save myself.
I can’t tear the suit off.
I can’t will my heart to change.
I can’t soften diamonds.

But He can.

About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

One Response to Poem: My Superpowers

  1. Kim says:

    Hey friend, I appreciate your blog.

Leave a Reply

