Notes on Sleeping In

Reasons to hit the snooze button:

  1. Don’t feel like facing the day.
  2. Fear of the day.
  3. Don’t feel good (super tired, achy, etc.)
  4. Laziness.
  5. Didn’t get enough sleep the night before (7 hours, based on last night’s guess and this morning’s feeling and vaguely remembered past experiences, seems optimal for me).
Psalm 3:5 says, “I lie down and sleep; I wake again because the LORD sustains me.”
This was probably originally written meaning this: David, running from Absalom, just wanted to lie down and sleep and survive through the night. I used to relate it to how, when I went to sleep, I didn’t want to get up again, but I did because I had faith that God would get me through the day (this was during my first year of teaching, mostly!). Last year, I began to read it like this: though rest and sleep are so scrumptious, I wake up from them because the LORD, not sleep, sustains me.
I think that today, this latter sense of the verse continues to instruct me most. If anything, I tend to idolize sleep, giving it more time, thought, and faith than I do God. I am the sloth written of in the proverbs; I am the foolish man. Apart from God, I would be living in my parents’ basement playing video games right now, fifty or one hundred pounds heavier.
It is only because of God, because of His redeeming work of transforming grace on my life, that I am anything more than a lazy, slothish, foolish slug of a man. It is only God. It is only Christ. It is only the Holy Spirit Who teaches me daily. Apart from them, I am the other criminal before Christ, I am Cain before repentance, I am Barabas before the switch, I am Peter before the restoration, I am Paul before the road to Damascus.
This is why God deserves all the glory for every good thing that occurs in my home, my classroom, my life. Everything.
About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

