Pray like Jesus – Gethsemane – Mark Driscoll sermon

 
(I tried embedding this but it didn’t work — here you go: http://www.marshillchurch.org/media/pray-like-jesus/the-gethsemane-prayer/your-will-be-done)

This sermon was a great aid to me today, and I wanted to post it here (first post in a looooong time) because of how the Lord used it to correct me and restore me. Here are some things Mark said (apologize if I missed a word here or there):

“You live in a stupid culture that tells you you can do whatever you want. You’re told from a kid that everyone gets to be president. You’re told you get to write the script of your life and everyone else will just read their part.” 

–Life is complicated, and I appreciate this reminder of that. I’ve been frustrated and disappointed and anxieated during the past two weeks by my students not doing what I want them to do. I appreciate being reminded that life is complicated and that I’m not given a director’s power. 

“Life with Jesus is not easier. It’s just not lonely.”
“You are the author and perfecter of your life… It’s a lie.”
“Sometimes prayer changes things — most of the time, it changes us.”
“Prayer didn’t get Jesus around any of it, but it got Him through it.”
“Are you despairing because of sin and its effects or because you didn’t get your way?”
May His will be done in our lives, and may we pray more like Christians.
About davestuartjr
Dave Stuart Jr. is a full-time teacher who writes about becoming better, saner teachers at TeachingtheCore.com. He is a follower of Jesus Christ, a husband to Crystal, and a father to Hadassah, Laura, and Marlena.

Leave a Reply

